Four Yale faculty members have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for their distinguished efforts to advance science.

This year 702 members were awarded this honor by their peers in the AAAS, the world’s largest scientific society.

The new Yale AAAS fellows and the reasons they were honored follow.

Xing Wang Deng, the Daniel C. Eaton Professor of Plant Biology, for his contributions to the study of photobiology, his outstanding contributions to American Society of Plant Biologists, and his work as editor for Plant Cell.

Joan Feigenbaum, the Grace Murray Hopper Professor of Computer Science, for contributions to theoretical computer science and the development of connections between theoretical computer science and other disciplines.

Mark Hochstrasser, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, for contributions to the field of protein degradation, including degradation signaling, post-translational modifications, and structure and action mechanisms of the proteasome.

Xiao-Jing Wang, professor of neurobiology, psychology, and physics, for contributions to the understanding of neural processes underlying short-term memory and decision-making, and for outstanding contributions to theoretical neuroscience.