Dr. Costas N. Georghiades, head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been selected to receive the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Communication Theory Technical Committee (CTTC) Service Award for 2012.

This award recognizes members of the CTTC of the IEEE Communications Society who georghiadeshave distinguished records of service, including CTTC symposia and workshop organization, leadership roles within the CTTC and the broader research community. Winners are nominated by other CTTC members from an international pool of candidates and are selected by committee.

Georghiades, professor and holder of the Delbert A. Whitaker Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering, was cited “for sustained contributions as editor, conference program chair and CTTC chair.”

Georghiades joined the Dwight Look College of Engineering faculty in 1985 as an assistant professor in the department. His general research interests are in the application of information, communication and estimation theories to the study of communications systems. Previously he led the department's Telecommunications and Signal Processing Group and was co-director of the VLSI-Telecommunications Research Center.

A registered professional engineer in Texas, Georghiades is a Fellow of IEEE. He previously held the J.W. Runyon, Jr. Professorship in Electrical Engineering at Texas A&M, as well as the Halliburton Professorship and the E.D. Brockett Professorship from the Look College.

Over the years Georghiades served in editorial positions with the IEEE Transactions on Communications, the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory, the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications and the IEEE Communications Letters for which he served first as an associate editor and then as editor-in-chief. He has been involved in organizing a number of conferences, including recently as general co-chair for the 2010 IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory, and has served as chair of the IEEE Communication Society's Communication Theory Technical Committee and in various committees of the IEEE Communications and Information Theory Societies. He currently serves as a member of the IEEE Hamming Medal Committee, the IEEE Communication Society’s Awards Committee and as chair of the IEEE Wireless Communication Letters Steering Committee.

Georghiades holds a bachelor's degree from the American University of Beirut and master's and doctoral degrees from Washington University in St. Louis.