Advertisement

If you've never googled yourself, I don't know what you're waiting for. (Wait! Please do it in a new window so you can quickly pop back over here to finish reading this after.)

[Side note: I just spent 20 minutes googling myself again, even though I've done it a million times.]

So why is this even a topic? Great question. Well, Google clearly knows that we all Google ourselves, as well as others.

I cannot tell you how many times I've asked friends, "Wait. Did you Google him?" ...Just in case, ya know? Same idea in my professional life. When a reader makes a seemingly rude comment on one of my articles, I immediately Google them to see who else they're degrading. (I can't believe I just admitted that.)

Anyhow—Google is taking the whole scary "personal data sharing" checks to a new level, with their new 'About Me' tool. They've basically made it easier for people to see exactly what they're sharing with the world. 

(No doubt if you're under the age of 35 or so, you've found something visible to the world that you're not overly thrilled about. Don't freak out.)

Here's what you can see see on my 'About Me' Google page.

So why has Google taken time to create this tool for us? Well, they've taken a lot of heat for all of the personal data collection that they do. Consumers, naturally, are concerned about how the data they share via Google products are actually being used. And I must admit, I'm one of the concern people. Just think of all of the items you "share" with Google—emails, photos, events, conversations, important documents, the list goes on.

And so in an effort to make us, the consumer, feel a bit better about using Google for well, everything, they'd enabled the 'About Me' tool to let individuals view what data the company is storing and what other people can see.

The tool allows you to add or delete information, up to a certain point. So what's "unchangeable?" Well, you can't change your first name or delete your date of birth, but you can change your actual details/sharing options of your birth year or remove a surname if you so choose.

Another plus—Google allows users to create email alerts that can be sent to you as soon as any of your information is uncovered by Google's search bot. You can set up daily or weekly alerts so that any time your "user name" is mentioned or some of your personal info is made public, you'll be notified.

Google also incorporated a “View as Public” option, but it's not fully functioning just yet. It will surely be interesting to see what personal details are being displayed to the public, as well as whether or not this data "fix" that Google is implementing will make consumers feel better about their online "life." For Google's sake, let's hope the tool doesn't backfire.

Advertisement
Advertisement