The 2016 ECN IMPACT Awards are the culmination of a Product Technology Awards history stretching back 60 years. Honoring our rich tradition of highlighting design engineering excellence, the ECN IMPACT Awards recognize the top products and services across the design engineering landscape. The competition seeks to honor ingenuity and creativity among companies large and small who are making a difference in the industry and in the lives of engineers.

This year's finalists represent organizations across 17 categories that have shown excellence in engineering through electronic design and groundbreaking innovation.

This year’s ECN IMPACT Award Winners will be announced in a live online event, hosted at at 12:00 noon (EDT) on October 13, 2016.

Analog & Mixed Signal ICs

Inphi Corporation 4-level Pulse Amplitude Modulation chipset
Analog Devices, Inc. AD9162
SiTime Corporation SiT8021 µPower Oscillator
Silego Technology GreenPAK 5
SiTime Corporation Super-TCXO
Inphi Corporation


Boards, Modules, & Embedded Systems

Texas Instruments MSP432™ microcontroller (MCU) platform
NXP Semiconductors Hexiwear
Maxim Integrated MAXREFDES79# Quad IO-Link® Master Reference Design
Renesas Electronics America, Inc. Renesas ADAS Starter Kit
NXP Semiconductors Single Chip System Module SCM-i.MX 6Dual/6Quad
Texas Instruments

C2000™ Delfino™ MCUs and DesignDRIVE Position Manager


Keysight Technologies, Inc. M9709A AXIe High-Speed Digitizer
Virtium Solid State Storage and Memory StorFly XE Class SSD Family
Virtium Solid State Storage and Memory M.2/Mini Card SSDs
Texas Instruments Sitara™ AM57x processor

Cooling & Thermal Management

Degree Controls, Inc. F660
Digi International Digi Honeycomb
Microchip Technology Inc. MCP9600
Future Facilities 6SigmaET
Phononic The HEX 2.0

Electromechanical/Mechanical Devices

EAO Corporation Series 84- Halo Compact

Medical Device Design

ON Semiconductor Ezairo® 7150 SL
Microsemi ZL70550 Ultra-Low-Power Sub-GHz RF Transceiver
Maxim Integrated MAX30102 pulse oximeter and heart rate integrated sensor module

Microwave & RF

Nordic Semiconductor nRF52832 Multiprotocol Bluetooth low energy/ANT/2.4GHz RF System-on-Chip
Analog Devices, Inc. ADF4355
Microchip Technology Inc.

Microchip LoRa® technology evaluation kit

Texas Instruments SimpleLink Sub-1 GHz CC1310 wireless microcontroller
Analog Devices, Inc. AD9371
Peregrine Semiconductor PE42723 High Linearity RF Switch


OSRAM Opto Semiconductors Oslux SFH 4786S Infrared LED (IRED)
Renesas Electronics America Inc Renesas RAA305315GBM OIS Driver IC
Texas Instruments DLP® 0.66-inch 4K ultra-high definition (UHD) chip
OSRAM Opto Semiconductors DURIS® P 10 Platform of LED Products
OSRAM Opto Semiconductors SYNIOS® P2720 Platform of LED Products
OSRAM Opto Semiconductors DURIS® S 2 Platform of LED Products

Packaging, Interconnects, & Enclosures

OKW Enclosures, Inc. BODY-CASE
TE Connectivity FORGE Drawer
Hitaltech USA Modulbox for Embedded
WAGO Corporation 221 LEVER-NUTS® Splicing Connectors
Harwin Inc Harwin Datamate Coax Multiport 6GHz 50Ω connectors

Passive Components & Discrete Semiconductors

Wolfspeed, A Cree Company CAS325M12HM2 High Performance, 1200V, 325A, Silicon Carbide 62mm Half-Bridge Module
Maxwell Technologies K2 3-volt (3V), 3,000-farad ultracapacitor cell
GaN Systems Inc. GS66516T Top-side cooled 650 V E-mode GaN transistor
KEMET Corporation T598 – Polymer Electrolytic Capacitors for Automotive
West Coast Magnetics WCM320 Power Inductor

Power Sources & Conditioning Devices

Tripp Lite Tripp Lite 3-Phase Rack ATS
Maxim Integrated MAX14720 power management integrated circuit (PMIC)
TransSiP Inc. TransSiP
Intersil Corporation ISL8273M 80A Single Channel Digital PMBus Step-Down Power Module
Intersil Corporation ISL9237 USB-C buck-boost battery charger
Arctic Sand Technologies ARC1C0608 IC
Power Integrations SCALE iDriver IC
Ericsson Power Modules BMR466
Falcon Electric Falcon Electric SC On-line UPS
Texas Instruments TPS54A20 SWIFT synchronous DC/DC converter
Carling Technologies N-Series Hydraulic-Magnetic Circuit Breaker
Quail Electronics, Inc. Q-Lock™ Receptacle
Peregrine Semiconductor PE29100 GaN FET Driver

Rapid Prototyping

NXP Semiconductors Hexiwear
Artec 3D Artec Studio 11


ams AG AS7000 Biosensor
ams AG AS-MLV-P2 MEMS Gas Sensor
Sensirion AG Differential Pressure Sensor SDP3x
Maxim Integrated MAX14827 IO-Link® Dual-Channel Transceiver
Sensirion AG Humidity Sensor SHTW2

Software Design

Analog Devices, Inc. ADIsimFrequencyPlanner
Altium Altium Designer 16
Virtium Solid State Storage and Memory vtView
Omnify Software Omnify Empower PLM 6.0

Special Recognition: Contract Manufacturer Innovation

Mason, Inc. EAO Corporation

Special Recognition: Market Disruptor

Peregrine Semiconductor PE42723 High Linearity RF Switch

Special Recognition: Social Corporate Responsibility

KEMET Corporation Conflict minerals initiative and closed-pipe supply chain
Stanley Goodrich, Public Relations Manager SYSPRO Green Enablement
Acopian Technical Company Acopian Internship Program

Test & Measurement

Tektronix P7700 series of TriMode™ probes
Anritsu Company MP1800A Signal Quality Analyzer
Texas Instruments TI DLP® NIRscan™ Nano Evaluation Module (EVM)
Vector Software VectorCAST/Analytics
Tektronix DPO70000SX 70 GHz Performance Oscilloscope
Cascade Microtech, Inc. MicroVac™ Hi-ISO Coaxial Chuck
Mentor Graphics Corporation MicReD Power Tester 600A
Cascade Microtech, Inc. Multi-Purpose Electromigration Tester (MPEM Module)
Tektronix DMM7510
Keysight Technologies Keysight U1280 Series Handheld Digital Multimeters

The 2016 ECN IMPACT Award Winners will be announced in a live online event, hosted at at 12:00 noon (EDT) on October 13, 2016.

If you’d like to learn more about the 2016 ECN IMPACT Awards, please click here.