Ozdaglar selected as the inaugural Steven and Renee Finn Innovation Fellow

Tue, 11/27/2012 - 1:25pm
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Department of Electrical Engineer and Computer Science (EECS) Professor Asu Ozdaglar has been named the inaugural Steven and Renee Finn Innovation Fellow. Made possible by a gift from EECS alumnus Steven Finn '68, SM '69, EE '70, ScD '75 and his wife, Renee, the fellowship provides tenured, mid-career faculty in EECS with resources for up to three years to pursue new research and development paths, and to make potentially important discoveries through early stage research.

Since 2003, Ozdaglar has been a member of the EECS faculty, as well as a member of Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems and the Operations Research Center. Her research interests include optimization theory with emphasis on nonlinear programming and convex analysis; game theory with applications in communication, social and economic networks; and distributed optimization and control. She is the co-author of the book, titled “Convex Analysis and Optimization” (Athena Scientific, 2003). She also co-directs (with Sandy Pentland, the Toshiba Professor of Media Arts and Science) the Center for Connection Science and Engineering, a virtual center at MIT to bring together network initiatives from across the Institute.

Ozdaglar is the recipient of a Microsoft fellowship, the MIT Graduate Student Council Teaching award, the NSF Career award, Class of 1943 Career Development Chair, the 2008 Donald P. Eckman award of the American Automatic Control Council, and is a 2011 Kavli Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences. She served on the Board of Governors of the Control System Society in 2010. She is currently the area co-editor for a new area for the journal Operations Research, titled "Games, Information and Networks"; an associate editor for IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, and the chair of the Control System Society Technical Committee “Networks and Communications Systems."

Share this Story

You may login with either your assigned username or your e-mail address.
The password field is case sensitive.