The Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA), representing U.S. leadership in semiconductor manufacturing and design, presented its 2012 Congressional Leadership Awards to Sen. Carl Levin (D-Mich.), Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.), Rep. Kevin Brady (R-Pa.) and Rep. Wally Herger (R-Calif.) in recognition of their strong support for policies that are vital to maintaining U.S. leadership in semiconductor manufacturing and design. Rep. Herger, who has announced he will retire at the end of the year, was recognized with SIA’s Lifetime Congressional Leadership Award for his cumulative accomplishments during his 25-year career in Congress. 

“It is our pleasure to honor these four distinguished congressional leaders and semiconductor industry champions,” said Brian Toohey, president and CEO of the Semiconductor Industry Association. “Sens. Levin and McCain and Reps. Brady and Herger have been vigorous advocates for effective, bipartisan policies that have helped strengthen and expand the U.S. semiconductor industry. Thanks in part to the effective leadership of Sens. Levin and McCain on combating counterfeit semiconductors and Reps. Brady and Herger’s support for research and development, our industry is creating jobs, driving the economy and building breakthroughs to solve society’s most pressing challenges.”

As Chairman and Ranking Member on the Senate Armed Services Committee, Sens. Levin and McCain launched a bipartisan investigation into the dangers of counterfeit semiconductor chips, raising the profile of this important issue and leading to historic reforms at the Department of Defense. Furthermore, Sens. Levin and McCain have shown steadfast support for research funding within the Defense Department, helping sustain the pipeline of discoveries that fuel the semiconductor industry and the overall economy.

As leaders on the House Ways and Means Committee, Trade Subcommittee Chairman Brady and Health Subcommittee Chairman Herger have spearheaded efforts in the House to improve and extend the R&D tax credit. Although the credit expired last year, Reps. Brady and Herger have worked to ensure that it remains a priority on the House agenda. Throughout their congressional careers, Reps. Brady and Herger have recognized that the semiconductor industry is the backbone of innovation and that semiconductors enable economic growth, enhance societal welfare and contribute to our national security.

“Congratulations to Sen. Levin, Sen. McCain, Rep. Brady and Rep. Herger for receiving this well-deserved honor,” said Rich Beyer of Freescale Semiconductor and Chairman of the SIA Board of Directors. “This award recognizes their efforts to promote the U.S. semiconductor industry and protect America’s technology leadership in the world.”