Kumar receives Distinguished Alumnus Award

Thu, 06/07/2012 - 8:00pm
Texas A&M University

Dr. P.R. Kumar, holder of the Computer Engineering Chair in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University, was named a recipient of the Indian Institute of Technology in Madras 2012 Distinguished Alumnus Award.kumar

These awards are presented annually by the institute. Kumar was given his award for academic excellence. Criteria for this award includes academic achievements and honors, intellectual contributions to the field of expertise, pioneering work, journal papers and citation indices, conference papers, books and book chapters, number of Ph.D. scholars guided, visiting professorships, lectureships, fellowships in professional associations, student mentoring and welfare activities, peer testimonials and awards and recognition.

Kumar joined the Texas A&M faculty and the department’s computer engineering group in Fall 2011. He has a bachelor's degree in electrical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology in Madras, and master's and doctoral degrees in systems science and mathematics from Washington University in St. Louis.

Kumar, a member of the National Academy of Engineering, was formerly the Franklin W. Woeltge Professor and a researcher in the Coordinated Science Lab of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He has made groundbreaking contributions that have helped to shape industrial practice and research in both semiconductor manufacturing and wireless networking. He has distinguished himself in both research and education in the field of systems, which includes control, communications and computing.

Kumar is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Other honors include receiving a Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award from Washington University in St. Louis and being named a Guest Chair Professor and Leader of the Guest Chair Professor Group on Wireless Communication and Networking at Tsinghua University in Beijing, China.

He also is the recipient of the Donald P. Eckman Award, the Engineering Council Award for Excellence in Advising, the IEEE Field Award for Control Systems and the IEEE Communications Society Fred W. Ellersick Prize. He was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Eidgenossische Technische Hochschule) in Zurich and was given the Tau Beta Pi, Daniel C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award from the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois.


Share this Story

You may login with either your assigned username or your e-mail address.
The password field is case sensitive.